Portfolio Review, Chapter Three – “Down Under” Part Deux

Sorry for the paucity of posts lately – been swamped with projects, including some pretty neat-o stuff that will undoubtedly make its way to this blog once the images are no longer embargoed.

But, in a rare moment when both my energy level and the immediate demands of my never-ending list of tasks made it possible, I did get to record Part Deux of the Down Under series.

Today we are heading down to Adelaide, to the site of residential interiors guy Jonathan.

The usual disclaimers apply:

  1. These are my opinions, nothing more. I don’t censor myself, and try to react to photos as naturally as your (potential) clients might.
  2. I’m not the end-all and be-all of interiors photography —- far from it!! Get some other opinions, there’s plenty of room for debate.
  3. I’m not linking to websites, or naming the photographers in print, to avoid having clients Google these brave souls and finding me giggling over their sites. If you’re going to cross-post, please follow suit.
  4. And finally, if you’d like to see your website featured here, send me a brief email with a link, some background on yourself and your shooting style, and your goals. I’ll add you to the list.

This one came in at almost 45 minutes, but it was a big site. Open a beer, sit back, and enjoy! And hit me up in the comments – there’s no reason why the discussion can’t continue…

7 responses to “Portfolio Review, Chapter Three – “Down Under” Part Deux

  1. another great episode, enjoying all of them. would love to see you do some editing at some point. these have been very helpful and fun.

  2. Scott, i can’t thank you enough for taking the time to do this, it was so interesting for me to hear your opinions, of both the good, and the bad images (which on your advice will be removed from my website ASAP) I found your critique inspirational and what I have managed to learn in that short 45 minutes was invaluable. The way you manage to analyze each picture and give purely constructive criticism (with only the occasional laugh) and also offer advice on how to correct the issues you find is fantastic. Coming from such a master of interior photography your words on the image you called your “favorite” have inspired and given me renewed enthusiasm to hone my craft and continue to try and produce images of this caliber. Thankyou again.

  3. Just wanted to say how much I enjoy these things. I see them as tutorials on how to look at, and evaluate a photograph. This is a tremendous resource for anyone trying to learn photography, and especially anyone who loves interior photography.

    Thanks for putting these out there, and I look forward to more!

  4. just found the blog. enjoyed the critique

  5. Scott,

    These critiques are really helpful for us all as it makes us take a hard look at not only what we’ve already produced and currently have on our sites, but also hopefully makes us think before snapping that next shot.

    It has really inspired me to take a hard look at my own site and try to objectively look at what really should be on there, and what should not.

    Thanks for all your hard work and commitment to sharing your knowledge.

    George

  6. Very Nice! I have done mainly commercially exteriors and may have to do more interiors too. These reviews are really helpfull in learning what to look for.

    I am definitely going to come back and watch more of these reviews. They rock!

    Regards

    John

  7. Very nice critique. Would very much appreciate the
    same for my site which is constantly changing.
    If you have the time of course.
    Keep up the good work.
    Mike Barton