More Miller-Warnecke Goodness


You may remember this Miller Warnecke staircase I shot a few weeks ago — here’s another from the same project. Enjoy!

6 responses to “More Miller-Warnecke Goodness

  1. I’m very much looking forward to the day where I get to shoot at the level where I’m getting homes like this.

  2. Perfectly balanced and looks completely natural. Great work as usual.

    What do you use for white balancing?

  3. Ian, unless I’m concerned about an overt color cast (like if I’m bouncing a light off a lime green wall, or something), I leave the camera set between 4200K – 4700K, and then adjust the white balance in RAW. I look for something in the room that’s reliably neutral, such as the switchplate cover next to the kitchen door, in this case, and eyedropper that. If things are potentially crazy, I use an Xrite color checker card.

  4. Aha! That’s what I was getting at… How do you like using the Color Checker Passport? I have had scenes where I get a ton of green bouncing off the grass outside and that mixes with my strobes to put green casts in window openings. I’m usually working too fast to put white reflectors outside the windows on the ground, so I end up just dealing with the casts.

  5. Ian, I don’t use the Passport, although it *is* in my B&H wishlist right now…
    I use the old-fashioned 8×10 target, which I like because it gives me a bigger swatch to hit with the eyedropper in Photoshop. It works great, I can find the accurate white balance very quickly. If there’s mixed lighting present, I can shoot it in different parts of the room and then blend exposures together as necessary. Best $70 you’ll spend on color management!

  6. Good point Scott. A tiny little pocket sized chart would be really hard to set up in an architectural scene and still have large enough sample locations to use for calibration.

    Question though… if you buy the old target, can you get the Lightroom camera calibration plugin separately or is that only possible if you purchase the passport?

    I figure there’s a great advantage to having all the sample locations to really nail the “tint”. Otherwise I believe red/blue shadow noise in the grey sample box you’re grabbing a dropper sample from can taint the tint.