The Essential Guide to Lighting Interiors

EDIT: This blog has MOVED. You’re on the old, dead blog. Everything (including this post) has been migrated onboard my website. Here’s the direct link:

http://scotthargisphoto.com/blog/

Update your bookmarks! See you there!

We now continue with our original programming….

It’s official – you can buy my book HERE.

I average about an email a day asking me for advice, coaching, or inquiring about a book, DVD, pamphlet, or other resource on lighting interiors. This book is the answer to all that. I didn’t hold back – this is the technique I employ every day on shoots. I tried to lay out as clearly as possible the theory and practical solutions that go into my photos. We’ll go into big, spacious living rooms, small bathrooms, and even into a pitch-dark, cramped little attic together, figuring out how to light them all from start to finish.

Sample page from Lighting Interiors – Click it to see it full-size.

If you shoot real estate — this is your book. It’s written with small flash (and the need to move quickly) in mind. Photographers who shoot interiors for other types of clients will find that the techniques described “scale up” perfectly well – I spent today shooting with a combination of speedlights and a more powerful pack-and-head system for a kitchen remodeling company, and the fundamentals I was relying on are the ones I put in the book.

Let me know what you think! Since it’s an “eBook”, there will be updates periodically, and you’ll get every one of them for free, automatically. Hit THIS LINK to get to the ‘order page’ — you’ll be able to download the PDF immediately.

Many thanks to the list of people who supported this project. I’ve listed many of them in the introduction, but I have to mention Larry Lohrman and Malia Campbell here. Larry for publishing, editing, and being incredibly patient with me as I tried to write while juggling a crazy travel and shoot schedule (and never complaining even when I made nit-pick after nit-pick over the many drafts we went through). And Mia for being endlessly forgiving while I slowly went crazy on this project. It kind of took over my life during the past two months especially.

Hit the comments – let me know if this is a hit, or a miss!

35 responses to “The Essential Guide to Lighting Interiors

  1. Charles Mackenzie-Hill

    Scott, that’s great news, and congratulations on getting published. Just bought your first addition ,so can’t wait to read it. Of course, there is now no excuses , as taken one of your inspirational workshops and bought the book. Thanks Scott and to everyone involved.

  2. Thanks for all your hard work on this Scott, well done!

  3. You did it! I’m so proud of you!

  4. been waiting on this. ordered. downloaded. thanks!

  5. recommend any sources online I can get this printed and mailed to me? i love paper and the book format.

  6. This is great, thanks!

  7. Congrats on the book Scott. Just downloaded it.

    Where are you going to spend all of this dough?!!!

    Good luck.

  8. He’ll probably make a big contribution to the Obama Foundation.

  9. Hi Everyone — thanks, and I hope it’s useful! Let me know how I did – where I did well, and where I left gaps. I’m very interested in feedback!

  10. Nicholas Allen

    Hey Scotty, maaaate! Downloaded and already half devoured. Love it, it just what I needed.
    Cheers

  11. Lynsey waddill

    LOVE, LOVE, L-O-V-E the book… so far HAHA 🙂 Great job!

  12. Love the book. Chapter 12 alone is worth the price of admission. Page 103, paragraph 2 mentions suggested reading at end of book. Can’t find it. Am I missing a page?
    Thanks Scott for all your work.

    • Ted – that’s a mistake. Suggested reading got cut, but that reference stayed in by accident. I’ll be adding that back in, however, in the next update. Don’t get too excited, it’s basically a tour of my bookshelf and blog roster.

  13. CB in Pittsburgh

    Nice Job, Scott. It needed to be done and you got it done. I picked up some really good tips I’m sure will help. For anyone whose stumach churned at the thought of their SB80 on top of a door frame unsecured, Hobby suggest Super Clamp w/stud in the strobist bag Manfrotto part# 035RL. It fits perfectly on a standard door.
    Thanks, again.

  14. Scott-great book. Ordered and downloaded after getting the PFRE email. Read once and will read again. Question: What do you carry your SLIK tripods in? I’ve tried big gym bags, slings…none work well. Like the equipment definitions with the type of cases you have—all is great information!!

    • Mike, my Sliks came with carry cases that are actually big enough to fit two tripods in – so I use those. They have shoulder straps and are really well built.

  15. I’ve been perfecting my own techniques for a year since spending some serious study time of your blog – looking forward to gleaning more from your book! Big congrats on finishing the project – tyranny of the urgent and all that…

  16. Great ebook Scott! Got a shoot tomorrow that I’ll be trying again… but damn, those sb-80’s are hard to find now that everyone know’s you use them! 🙂 I’m going to sell my canon 580ex 1 to fund a couple of those..if I can find them.

  17. thanks for all the bits of wisdom and all the new techniques to add to my arsenal. i had no idea how difficult really good results are but also how rewarding.

  18. Very gratifying to hear that people are getting something out of this!

  19. Just finished the book Scott. Great job! I appreciate the hard work you obviously put into it. I caught your workshop in Raleigh, NC. This is a great compliment to but no substitute for the workshop. The book is good for understanding your thought process. I can’t wait to put some of the new ideas into practice. I have recently realized that my work is “slipping into a rut” so maybe this will help to bring it up a notch. If you ever have another workshop in the Southeast I will do my best to be there!
    Brett

  20. Hey Scott,
    I forgot to ask about something I noticed in the book. In a couple of the pictures I saw your camera on a tripod. Have you started shooting on a tripod or was that just for illustration? I remember in your workshop that you said the tripod slowed you down too much (I agree). Inquiring minds…

    • Brett, I rarely use a tripod when shooting real estate, unless it’s a twilight situation with very long shutter speeds, but I wouldn’t be without one for any other type of interiors shoot. Some of the images in the book were shot specifically for the chapters I had in mind, and so I used the sticks to keep every frame consistent while I “made my point” with the lights or whatever.

  21. Howdy Scott, You and you’re crew did a great job on your Book. The only thing I have to complain about is it has cost me a considerable chunk of change$. I know you weren’t twisting my arm. It is a lot harder then you make it look. I’m finding just figuring out how to adjust the flashes is hard for me. So far I’m using a SB 800 as commander and have a SB 600 & SB 80DX. Have another SB 80 on its way. I’ll play with these for awhile and see how things go.

    Again Congratulations on the Book, Conrad

    PS We put the same back splash tile in our Kitchen! Nice Choice.

  22. Compliments for the ebook, the working sheets are great. How will we get informed about future updates and the download link?

  23. I bought a new computer and want to download the book. How do I do this? I bought the book a couple of months ago and my computer crashed.

  24. Darryl, that should be no problem. If you still have your email from when you downloaded it originally, reply back and you can get a new download link. I’ll let Larry (the publisher) know and he might be able to look you up and take care of it from his end.

  25. Susanne Hayek

    Great Book! Even though I have been shooting real estate for six years, I look forward to upping my game via your techniques. Thank you for your generosity.

  26. Perhaps this has been covered already (I’ve only scratched the surface of reading you blogs, etc.)
    but my question/comment is: I shoot all Olympus gear and wonder if all the instruction on flash and gear recommendations will translate well to the gear I use (Olympus E5, Olympus flashes, etc.).

    I’m sure that not everyone shoots with Nikon or Canon…

    • Lory,
      Light is light….doesn’t matter what camera you’re using to capture it. Other than my recommendation of Nikon flashes (which, when in “SU-4” or optical mode, will work with any other system) I tried to stay away from anything that’s really specific to any one make of camera.

  27. If I buy the PDF for my iMac, can I also download it to my iPad at no additional cost?

  28. I have a question in regard to the info in this book. I was wondering what height your camera is off the floor for most shots. I know it depends on what might be in the foreground, but for a typical shot how high would it be? Thanks!

    • Generally, the camera should be slightly above the dominant horizontal feature – table, bed, kitchen benchtop. 8″ to 18″ is typical. As with so many things, there are no absolutes.