This Week In Photos: May 6th, 2011

New feature — and we’ll see how it goes….the concept is to show one or two images from every shoot I do, each week. Can I keep it up, week after week? Hmmm….

A lot of what I shoot is embargoed for a period of weeks or even months (in one case, over a year!) and so I can’t “go public” with them right away. But most of it I can get out here more or less immediately. Here’s ten from this week:

See you next week!

Scott


7 responses to “This Week In Photos: May 6th, 2011

  1. Awesome shots Scott!!

  2. I’ll help remind you! I know how much you love when I remind you of things that you haven’t done yet…

  3. Hi Scott,
    I bought your Lighting Interiors book and keep it in my car as a field manual.

    I do have questions.
    Do you have a typical starting points or (“go to settings”) for flash power when:
    1) Bouncing into wall or wall/ceiling.
    2) WAD directly into room.
    3) Through a shoot-through umbrella into room.

    Thank you very much.
    -Michael
    P.S.
    Any plans of another Orange County/ LA workshop?

  4. alex baugh

    Oooh, I sure hope you keep this up. I’ll be definitely be watching.

  5. Great weekly inspiration…thanks!

  6. Nice images in some fantastic homes. Have you done any experimenting with blending flash shots with hdr? I keep seeing Iran and a couple others in the flickr group put up outstanding work with their hybrid methods. I can’t put my finger on what exactly it is that I like about the hybrid ones. I think it has something to do with contrast in the mids.

  7. Mason,
    No HDR. Funky colors. I do manual blending quite often, although not so much on a real estate gig. The problem with the blending or fusion programs (Photomatix, etc.) is it’s just too hard to keep consistent color, and my interior design clients wouldn’t stand for it. Manual blends let me stay in the driver’s seat, but of course they’re much more labor-intensive.