Real Estate!

I got my start shooting real estate, and I still do anywhere from two to ten real estate gigs every month. I’ve gotten a few emails from folks wanting to see some of that work, and since I’ve been shooting a LOT of real estate lately (eight shoots this month already), here’s a nice selection of recent stuff.

Shameless Plug:

Lighting For Real Estate Photography . com

13 responses to “Real Estate!

  1. Great photos Scott. I am an aspiring real estate photographer in the Chicago area and just go my start in the past couple months. Yesterday, I shot an older home, thought I got some pretty good shots, and then today the realtor was unhappy with a couple of the photos including one of the foyer and staircase. Would you mind looking at the photo in the link below (3rd photo shown). In your professional opinion does the photo look distorted? Does the staircase look distorted? I got down low for this shot to accentuate the grandeur of the long/curved staircase and also to highlight the chandeliers in the foyer. Did this backfire? Do you think it was a bad angle and overall a poor photo? Your advice is highly appreciated. This was my first job with the realtor and I’m rather surprised she was unhappy with this shot.
    http://thenicolniche.wordpress.com/2012/09/17/a-home-with-history/

    • @ Nicole,
      Well…..yeah, actually I’d say that shot, and a couple others, are pretty massively distorted. That house doesn’t look like that. Biggest issue is that you tilted the camera up to compensate for the unusually low point of view, and now all the things that are supposed to be vertical (like the doorway, and the stair banisters) are leaning over like grass in a high wind. It’s also very, very, VERY wide-angle….too wide. Things are stretched way beyond what’s believable. But I’d bet that your client is mostly reacting to the imploding-house look. Keep the camera level!
      If you haven’t seen them, try THIS, and THIS.
      Converging verticals are the low-hanging fruit. Nail that and your photographs will jump several orders of magnitude in quality.

      • Scott, Thank you very much for your help and suggestions. I found the composition video particularly helpful. As you point out in the video, too often the temptation to go too wide in interior photos is there and I seem to be guilty of that in the photos I referenced above and perhaps in many more of my interior photos. The idea of stepping back for a minute to think about it and tell a story in the room is a better idea than just getting as much in the photo as possible and I now realize that. Thank you again…your work (and education) is inspiring -Paul

  2. Wow, Scott. Your work is very inspiring to a beginner photographer. I can’t wait to get my hands on your book and then your videos. Keep up the great work on your blog.

    Thenicholniche, I’m certainly no professional photographer (yet) by any stretch of the imagination but I have seen tens of thousands of homes in the last 12 years and those first three pictures do look slightly odd to me.To me it looks as if you’re using a wide angle lens and shooting at an upward angle. The verticals in the first picture look off, but the second and third picture definitely look a little distorted. I would love to hear Scott’s and other professionals opinions on this. Thank you for allowing us to learn.

    Have a great week everyone!!!
    Sam

  3. Scott, your realtors must frikin’ love you.

  4. Very nice, what a great job from the lighting to the composition.

  5. Scott, as usual, gorgeous work and your exterior is the pefect time of day.

  6. Looks like you still got it. 😉

  7. That dining room shot is killer!

  8. Hey Scott, with your busy schedule, do you think you could schedule one of your seminars for next year in the far away Midwest, say Chicago? We have a few tall buildings out here and a little lake called Michigan. Besides, you probably could use a break from taking photos going up or down hills in San Francisco and shoot in the flatlands! Save wear and tear on your car’s parking break.
    Just a thought. Keep up the great work!
    Rolfe Hokanson

  9. I’ll second what Rolfe had to say. I grew up in Chicago, but now live in St Louis, and would definitely come to Chicago for a seminar.
    You already have 2 students interested, how many students do you need to have a seminar?

    • Getting students is not the problem. Someone has to actually produce the workshop — source a venue, collect payment, deal with every little issue that comes up. I used to self-produce these things and I can tell you it’s HARD. So hard, I’ve given it up. And frankly they don’t go as well as they could. Much better when the workshop is produced by an organization that has the infrastructure and experience to do it right.

      Which doesn’t seem to exist in the US….sadly.