FStoppers Reviews Lighting For Real Estate Photography Video Series

EDIT: This blog has MOVED. You’re on the old, dead blog. Everything (including this post) has been migrated onboard my website. Here’s the direct link:

http://scotthargisphoto.com/blog/

Update your bookmarks! See you there!

We now continue with our original programming….

 

Cool.

Mike Kelley (himself an accomplished interiors guy) reviewed my video series, Lighting For Real Estate Photography over at the always-fun blog FStoppers. Looks like we got a solid thumbs-up! Although Mike neglected to comment on my incredible on-camera poise and presence, and general good looks. I guess maybe he was just overwhelmed.

I hit FStoppers every day or so, for the great BTS vids they feature. And Mike (along with some of the other writers) keeps enough architectural/interiors material flowing through to make sure my attention doesn’t wander.

Read the review, HERE.

Find out details on the twenty-one now twenty-two part video series, HERE.

6 responses to “FStoppers Reviews Lighting For Real Estate Photography Video Series

  1. Congratulations to you and Malia on the great Fstoppers review!
    Echoes all the positives I’ve taken from the series myself. Looking forward to the next instalment as well !

    • Thanks, Niall. This is the first “press” we’ve gotten in the “mainstream” photo blogosphere, so we’re pretty happy about it. Seems to have been well-received!

  2. Soon i must got this videoseries. Nice work Scott. I got your ebook and this looks to be a good continued part.

  3. Scott,

    I am so excited right now that I came straight to your blog to post this. I manage a pretty busy real estate team in Atlanta, and because I enjoy photography so much, I have pretty much been the self-appointed “staff photographer” for about two years. Taking BPO and listing photos on a near daily basis is actually what led to my obsession with photography. When I first started, I knew my photos sucked and just wanted them to get better.

    I’ve spent most of this year learning off camera flash so I could shoot portraits, but my real estate photos were always kinda “eh.” I was very guilty of the distorted super wide angle view and on-camera flash type of shot. Thankfully, my team does mostly foreclosures so it was never that big of a deal.

    Fast forward a little bit. A few weeks ago I was reading through http://www.Strobist.com archives and found David mentioning you a few times. I saw some awesome photos of yours, and eventually found your blog. After looking at your portfolio and learning that you promoted “get it right in the lens” philosphy, I knew that I was just doing something wrong, and there was a readily available solution, but I just wasn’t sure what it was.

    So I bought your video course (the one this post is about) over this past weekend and devoured it Saturday night and Sunday. Since I work at a real estate office, I asked several agents if they needed photos of a house and volunteered my services in exchange for free reign to practice for a few hours. I spent most of yesterday afternoon in a half-million dollar house (in Georgia that’s a BIG house – over 5,000 sq ft)…. and got some great photos.

    This morning I asked another agent in my office that focuses on multi-million dollar homes who she used as a photographer and she told me who it was. She then volunteered that he wasn’t very good and she was looking for someone new. I asked her what she didn’t like about his photos and after she showed them to me, I immediately recognized the telltale signs of wide angle distortion, leaning verticals, and on camera flash…and this was a $2.5M listing! I showed her my pictures from yesterday’s house where I was practicing your techniques and she hired me on the spot to shoot not one, but four(!) multi-million dollar homes over the next few weeks including one of a famous person that I idolized as a teenager. Totally unbelievable! Turns out her client had complained about the photos she showed me and this “professional” had been back to the house three times…. each time coming back with the same typeof crappy photos.

    I’m by no means an expert in real estate photography (yet), but I was fortunate enough to have learned how to photograph in manual mode from day one by trial and error. 30,000 photos later, I don’t think I can shoot any way BUT manual. I had no idea that would be so important when I started shooting, but by simply implementing your techniques, trusting them, and adding them to the skillset I developed by default, my interior photography skills literally improved tenfold over night and I immediately landed a great opportunity to build an awesome portfolio and get paid to do it.

    For those of you who might on the fence like I was about this video series. It’s worth it. This series of videos basically walks you through shooting an entire house from beginning to end. At first I thought the videos were kinda short and maybe missing some meat, but after re-watching them several times, and actually going out and trying this stuff, you’ve got all the instruction you really need. The only thing I would say is that if you are a brand new photographer, you really need to have your head wrapped around the fact that flash and ambient light are exposed independent of one another in order for all of this to make sense. If you aren’t that far along, go to http://www.Strobist.com and learn how flash works in the lighting 101 and 102 educational series (they’re free), but if you have a working knowledge of flash, this will bounce you light years ahead (no pun intended) of other real estate photographers in your area. And for the record, I do not know Scott personally, and this is a completely unsolicited comment on his blog.

    Scott, all this was really just to say thanks. I definitely owe you a beer.

  4. Just a quick follow up to my last comment for those who are reading your blog. I started with your videos, but then struggled with some hotspot issues trying to light the rooms. I knew I was trying to light too much room per flash, but trying to bounce additional lights was causing me a lot of grief as well. I rewatched all the videos, practiced some more, kept running into the same problem, and then decided to buy the e-book too to see I was missing something. Turns out, you go into much more detail about how you use a direct light with the WAD in the book. Using the hard light with the WAD and feathering it really made a huge difference. You touched on it briefly in the videos, but much more in the books. If you ever add anything to the video series, more discussion on your direct lighting techniques would be my suggestion.

    At the end of the day, the combination of e-book and videos definitely gives a much clearer picture of the whole process. All in all, I’m thoroughly impressed with the quality of your production and the information you’ve presented.

    Thanks again!