Holly Bender Eclectic

Some clients are hard to categorize.  Holly Bender always manages to do something I wasn’t expecting. And I’m never sure just how to describe her work to my colleagues. She’ll do an utterly monochromatic bedroom, and then right down the hall is something vibrant and colorful. And yet, all these rooms are “hers”. Take a look at this set of photos we made in October and you’ll find some themes that carry though and make them all fit together.

See the continuity of motifs, patterns, colors? You might also take a look at another of Holly’s projects – the same themes are there.

I love this stuff. Working with a variety of interior design and architecture professionals puts me in a great position to compare and contrast their work. And they’re collectively taking me to school on design generally.

8 responses to “Holly Bender Eclectic

  1. Excellent work, as usual.
    I’m curious about the sink shot, about the thought that came up with this comp. About centering the lamp pair, but cropping the mirror frame and sink, which – to an outsider – seem to be much of the main subject. I do see a light top right that I imagine might be the cause, that you were deliberately excluding something and ending up with this composition? (wild-guessing here). But then, it does grab the attention, no doubt…

  2. I see. And thanks for that Iphone shot link, very informative!

  3. Very nice Scott. Question for you, do you ever use photoshop filter packages (Nik, Kubota etc) to enhance your final shots, or is it all done in ACR and basic Photoshop?

  4. Hi Scott, I like your work with strobes but I’m wondering how long does it take you to setup. I’m doing interior photography with real estate agents here in ny and usually I don’t have more that 45 min to 1 hour to walk out of a shooting session with at least 4 to 6 pics of an apartment/house. if I’d start taking too long then the agents gets impatient and I won’t get another call. I’m talking about half a million to 5 million dollar listings and they won’t spend more time than that.

    • Stef, when I was shooting real estate I generally averaged 5 to 7 minutes per photo. That let me produce 15 images in a little under an hour and a half. Remember that’s an average – bedrooms would be more like a minute, but then I might spend 15 minutes figuring out the kitchen. 45 minutes is pretty tight; you might want to cultivate the technique David Hobby recently wrote about: “….’The owners spent a lot (head down and raise the eyebrow when you say, ‘a lot’) of money to improve this [house]. Do we want a rush job or do we want it to look good? Because I can do it either way’…Ultimate blame for the results of rushing the photographer successfully shifted, you may now calmly go about your work…”

      Shots like the one being set up in the image above are more like an hour per photo. And still we feel rushed!