GPP, PDQ

I’m truly honored (and a bit awe-struck, actually) to have been invited back to Dubai for the annual GPP Photoweek 2013, which takes place March 1st through 8th. If you’re not familiar with this event, then I strongly urge you to hit the link and check it out — this is really a one-of-a-kind event.

I was thrilled to have taught 2 workshops with GPP in November (see student work, below), and we’ll be doing much of the same in March. Three workshops, two days each, covering basic-to-intermediate Interiors, and Advanced Interiors/Lifestyle. GPP does the best workshop production of anyone I’ve seen – my seminars in November were incredibly well-supported, and it really made a difference in the quality of the experience. PhotoWeek is their major annual event, and I’m completely stoked to be taking part in it. After my positive experience in November, I’m full of ideas for making the March workshops even better!

Given Dubai’s proximity to OZ, I think this is a no-brainer for Aussies, and it’s a pretty short flight from anywhere in Europe, too. And of course if you’re in the Gulf States or the Middle East overall…..be happy. This is in your back yard!

And don’t limit yourself to Interiors. The instructor list is as good as it gets, and on my day off I’m going to be hard-pressed to pick which of the other workshops I want to crash (we’re allowed to do that, which is an enormous perk. Hmmmmm…….). Again: these workshops are NOT fluff. GPP goes out of it’s way to ensure that the instructors are actually good at teaching, and that the material is worthwhile. There are very few opportunities to spend two or three days with the likes of Greg Heisler, Joe McNally, and David Hobby, not to mention Bobbi Lane, David Nightingale, Peter Hurley, Lindsay Adler, Zach Arias, Eduardo Angel, David Burnett, and John Keatley.

You can read a write-up of my GPP Photoweekend 2012 HERE. David Hobby’s excellent post about PhotoWeek 2013 is HERE. And below are a few student photos from November – these folks rocked it!

student_05_small

student_02_small

student_03_small

gpp_small-1

student_01_small

8 responses to “GPP, PDQ

  1. Happy New Year. Congratulations.

    Best,

    M. James

  2. Congrats Scott – I read about this on the Strobist blog a few days ago. If only I had a few grand burning a hole in my pocket…

  3. Congratulations! I think that it would be marvelous to attend but to be one of the instructors… Fantastic! BTW, It is amazing that all these top photographers chose such awful images of themselves, however, yours is quite good!

  4. Tim, even better to be an attendee….The depth of experience some of these guys bring to the table is breathtaking. I’ve spent HOURS going through Burnett’s stuff. Sadly, I’ll have only one day to soak up what I can from the others.

  5. What a great way to bring in the New Year! I’m very happy for you! I also read about it in David Hobby’s blog and watched his video. Congrats again, what an honor.

  6. Will you be doing any workshops in North America this year? I live in Kelowna, BC (about 4 hours north of Vancouver). I’ve attended WPPI, but I really want to learn how to improve my architectural photography, and would rather spend my money on a conference or workshop geared toward that.