SF Millenium Tower by Handel Architects

millenium_-3

I’ve shot the inside of this building many times, but I’ve never needed a good photo of the outside. Earlier this year, I decided I ought to make one, anyway. I spent a couple of Sunday afternoons wandering around the neighborhood, looking suspicious, scouting for locations to shoot from. Eventually I settled on the eighth floor of a building occupied by a global hedge fund management company.

They wouldn’t mind letting a random photographer run around their building, right? [#sarcasm]  As it turns out, it was actually fine. Getting access to a shooting location usually comes down to asking (the right people, in the right way), figuring out the process, and then following it to a “T”. I worked with the building management, and the tenant (the hedge fund people) and while it took a couple of weeks and some paperwork, eventually I got everything I had asked for: access for several hours, at two different times.

millenium_

As you can see from the construction, this angle won’t be available for much longer. The new Transbay Tower and transportation hub going into a 2-block piece of the SoMA district will soon occlude the gorgeous blue and white Millenium. At least from this viewpoint.

millenium_-2

2 responses to “SF Millenium Tower by Handel Architects

  1. architecture is truly beautiful. Thanks for reminding us of that fact.

  2. yildirim enes

    What else can I say,SUPERB work as always.Like they say when there is a will there is always ways to do it,that’s what you have done Mr Scott !